About Kobershain

09/05/10

Home
About Kobershain
Location
Miscellaneous
Photo Gallery
Completed Tower House

 

The District Kobershain

Kobershain was first mentioned in 1205 as a knight’s seat Kobirshagen. It flourished around 1529 with a manor and a mill, sheep farming, gardening and agriculture were the main activities . In 1637 the city was ravaged by the plague, sieges and looting and was largely destroyed. It was . reopened in 1662 with emphasis on agriculture and fish farming.

http://www.stadt-schildau.de/assets/images/K_Kirche.jpgIn 1815 Kobershain became the border town between Saxony and Prussia. . The "frontier house" bears testimony to this part of the history.

In 1836 a fire raged through the village resulting in the  school and church being almost completely destroyed.

Cultural monuments worth seeing are the fortified church from the 17th Century, the castle of the former manor, with gates and outbuildings, the rectory with side buildings and the windmill.

Since 1999 Kobershain has been incorporated as a district of the city Schildau, with the typical village main street, which has largely retained its historic layout. It is situated in a delightful setting on the northern edge of the Dahlen Heath surrounded by wonderful vistas of the surrounding landscape. Other areas of interest are the green forest areas and the orchard in the mountain road.

http://www.stadt-schildau.de/assets/images/k_Teich.jpg

Numerous lakes in the area complete the idyllic appearance. The area was renowned for it’s sandstone carving and there are a number of quarries in the area from which the sandstone and granite was used. Some examples can still be seen in churches, manor homes/Schloss’ and municipal buildings in the area. These quarries now form lakes and ponds some of which are used for swimming and other water sports such as a diving school/facility. 

For relaxation and day-trippers there is a strong network of marked bicycle and hiking trails with shelters, picnic areas and viewpoints, this network stretches as far as the mountain resort Hohburg. It is also on the “pilgrim’s” route which is well marked through out the region along with over-night fascilities.

There is a sports Center with football fields and a playground,  adjacent to this is the club house with outdoor seating which invites guest to enjoy a cool drink and to linger.  Annually in August, a sports festival is held at this facility.

Kobershain celebrated it’s 800 year anniversary in August 2005 and is an area rich in history.

Home | About Kobershain | Location | Miscellaneous | Photo Gallery | Completed Tower House

This site was last updated 11/01/09